top of page
Search

Videos and QR Codes in the Library

Updated: Dec 4, 2021



YouTube is a video sharing platform. It is a great tool to make videos that are creative, educational, and fun! Below you will find some examples of how YouTube can be used in the library.




theunquietlibrary

1. Helpful video: "Finding and Using Wikimedia Commons Images"

2.


pikesvillehslibrary


2.




bbmsmedia

  1. Most liked "Bring Them Back"

2.


From the six videos linked above I found the one by thequietlibrary most helpful to stuFrom the six videos linked above I found the one by thequietlibrary most helpful to students because it provided a tutorial on how to find and use Wikimedia commons images. As for the most liked video, Bring them Back Overdue Library Book Parody by bbmsmedia has a lot of views, meaning it is the most liked video of all. I think it was a creative way to remind students the importance of returning books for circulation. In addition, the other videos listed are a great way to involve students in creating videos and showing them that the library is a fun place full of books and resources they need. Overall, YouTube is a great tool to share videos that are easy to access, engaging, and great for visual learning. As a librarian, I plan on using YouTube videos to promote activities in the library, provide support to students and parents by creating helpful videos, and promoting reading through book trailers and book reviews. Keeping a library vlog for my library would also be great for staying current with students and their interests.


 

Book Trailers


The Witches was written by Roald Dahl and published in 1983. I enjoy reading this book to my 3rd graders year after year so its is a book I have been meaning to share using a book trailer. I had a lot of fun creating the video using Animoto. I though it was simple to use and provided several tools without needing to upgrade. Enjoy the trailer using the QR code below. I though it was perfect for sharing given the season.







QR codes are excellent for easy access to sharing material and linking all sorts of information with the use of a mobile device such as a phone or a tablet. You can simply open your camera to scan the code or download an app. As a future librarian, I plan on using QR codes to share book trailers, promote reflection by linking questions, or sharing tutorial videos with instructions. They can be placed on book covers, bookmarks, bulletin boards, book shelves, and walls.

41 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IMLS Texas State Fact Sheet

According to the American Library Association, the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) is the only federal program exclusively for...

5 Comments


Brittney Brittain
Brittney Brittain
Dec 04, 2021

Thank you for sharing your book trailer. I was able to scan the QR code and see the book trailer. This is such a great way to make students be a part of the library. They can make videos too!

Like

Deyanira Gonzalez
Deyanira Gonzalez
Dec 04, 2021

Hi ladies, that’s odd. The professor had great comments about it. Thanks so much for informing me. I’ll check up on it. :)

Like

Sara Feske
Sara Feske
Dec 03, 2021

I had similar thoughts on YouTube videos that you did. I loved the parodies as well. I feel that YouTube is used a lot less by schools now because it is blocked by so many districts. In our district we use myVRspot to build video collections.

Like

Natalie Castloo
Natalie Castloo
Dec 01, 2021

I also found the videos about finding Creative Common/Wikimedia common images most helpful. These videos are still relevant and useful for our students and teachers!


I also had issues with your QR code.

Like

Christina Iltis
Christina Iltis
Nov 28, 2021

I loved the video by BBMS. Not only were they incredibly clever, but I loved that they included the students. Making students part of library activities gives them ownership and encourages them to become lifelong library users.


Something isn't quite working with the QR code, so I wasn't able to watch your book trailer.


Like
bottom of page